Tags

, , ,

The past few days have really been a roller coaster of emotions – cliche but unfortunately true.  My stomach’s been hurting extra bad and I found out I can’t have a lot of foods, including juice, anymore.  Juice is a big part of afternoon happiness for me, so finding out that someone else has to drink the gallon of cranberry apple and two gallons of grapefruit juice that I just put in the fridge makes me pretty sad.  Also, my family had (is having) a big fight over an issue that has been going on for 4 days, and I’m sick of it.  I just want to get out of the house, but I have close to nowhere to go.

Saturday morning, I successfully made chocolate chip pancakes!  I am so proud of myself.

Real gluten-free pancakes!

Mom had a great idea…

Dessert for breakfast!

Then my mom and I went shopping for “teacher clothes” at the Limited outlet. I can’t wait to have a real job so I can dress nicely every day!

That evening, I went to Historic Ellicott City, Maryland so that Erin and I could visit the Bean Hollow, a super cute coffee and sandwich joint.  Erin’s old friend from Starbucks works there, and they had a good time catching up.

Erin’s friend does latte art!

We’re obsessed and we can’t wait to go back.  Afterwards, we walked up and down the historic street looking at antique shops.

Sorry, Erin. These pictures were just too good to leave out. 😛

Sunday, I decided to go to a drum corps show with my dad in Chambersburg, PA.  As you know, I had to leave tour due to illness, so I was kind of nervous about how I would feel.  I’m naturally a jealous person, but I’ve tried really hard not to be bitter about it.  Of course, that’s kind of hard when they’re now placing better than they have in 6 years, but overall I think I have the right attitude.  I was really excited to see Buck and Jules, my favorite pit techs, Nick, who is aging out on vibes (we would have gotten to stand together for 2 years in a row :[ ), and Chris, who aged out on vibes last year but now works on the souvenir truck. I surprised the Bones pit in their warmup lot, and they played some of their ensemble tunes for me.

I was really excited to see the show, and it was wonderful!  This year, it’s called “Fragile”, and in true Crossmen tradition it’s about the earth.  Once they fix a few things in the closer it’ll be really powerful!

I also saw Carolina Crown, whose show is “For the Greater Good”.  It’s really clean and entertaining, and definitely has a chance at winning.

Carolina Crown moves too fast for me to get a decent picture, I guess!

Last up was the Cadets, performing “12.25″.  The entire drum corps world had doubts about a Christmas-themed show, and it turns out the entire drum corps world was right.  It was boring, cheesy, too glittery, and you can only play so many arrangements of Carol of the Bells before everyone wants to strangle you.  And at the end of the night, it was Aaron Copland’s “Fanfare for the Common Man” from Carolina Crown stuck in my head, not Christmas music.  Better luck next year, Cadets.

Cadets, in their starting formation… a snowflake.

I’m definitely glad I went.  I know who my real friends are and it was great to cheer for them, since I know they do the same for me.  Go Bones!

