Tags

, , ,

I’m procrastinating, so here are some long term goals of mine.

1. Get accepted to and complete at least one year into graduate school. This is a two part goal.  If I pursue a Masters in music education, then I’ll need real experience first, so first I need to graduate and get a teaching job. If I teach for two years and then do my master’s, I’ll have one year to go by the time I’m 25.  For now, I have my sights set on Peabody.

This staircase…

…and this library are two of my favorite things about Peabody’s campus.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2. Participate in a major athletic event for a cause.  To be completely honest, I don’t really like exercising.  But it’s important if I want to be healthy and necessary to drop a few pounds like my doctor wants.  Also, it’s a great way to raise awareness among my friends and colleagues for something that I really care about. I think I either want to run a half marathon for JDRF or participate in a long distance cycling event for CCFA.  Or both! Who knows. This will also help me feel worthwhile!

I’m in there somewhere… 😛

3. Travel and explore.  I really want to go everywhere, but if I had to narrow it down, some top places are Egypt, Ireland, India, Greece, Italy, Israel, Japan, China, Russia, Australia, Ghana, South Africa, Morocco, Brazil, and Mexico, in no particular order.  My goal is to visit at least two of these countries by the time I’m 25 (I’m thinking maybe right after I graduate). I also want to visit three national parks that I haven’t seen yet – Yellowstone, the Grand Canyon, and Yosemite.

4. Get my own place, and thrive in it (AKA be a real adult!). I want real responsibility. I can’t wait to have a real apartment that I can decorate and furnish and take care of.  I can’t wait to host dinner parties and cook real food.  I can’t wait to have all of my stuff in one place.  I can’t wait to check my own mail, and set the thermostat to what I want.  Hopefully, I can bike to work every day.

my apartment will be this cute but not this big.

5. Feel good about myself as a musician. Over the years, I’ve had a lot of confidence issues with my playing (and honestly with everything else).  I want to practice really hard for the rest of my college career, and into my professional career, even if I don’t become a performer, and abolish those fears – make them completely unfounded.  I want to feel comfortable demonstrating my instrument for others or taking a short notice gig.  I don’t want to be that teacher who forgot how to play their own instrument.

There ya go!  I have 5 and a half years to complete these five things.  Wish me luck!

In other news…. I found my favorite shirt.  I haven’t seen it in ages.  I AM SO EXCITED!

My eyes are closed and my crooked smile is showing but this is still the best shirt ever.

